Commencing on December 31, 2019, the minimum wage in New York State went up as follows:
New York City Employers with 10 or less employees
Minimum wage increased from $13.50/hour to $15.00/hour. This matches the minimum wage for New York City employers with 11 or more employees.
Long Island and Westchester County
Minimum wage increased from $12.00/hour to $13.00/hour.
Elsewhere in New York State
Minimum wage increased from $11.10/hour to $11.80/hour.
What to do Now
If you have minimum wage employees, make sure that their wages reflect the increase in minimum wage.
In addition, it is imperative to remember to have new Wage Acknowledgement forms signed by any employee who received a raise as a result of the increase in the minimum wage. In fact, these forms must be signed at the time of hire, and any time there is a change in an employee’s rate of pay. Failure to do so could lead to a civil monetary penalty of up to $5,000 per employee!